Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Station Online

SBL

General Tips

SBL contains two different styles. Lycoming professors allow you to choose which you want to use, but be consistent.

Use a hanging indentation for the citation; use the author's full name(s) as given; capitalize all keywords in Title of Work, Title of Periodical, Title of Article, and Title of Chapter; do not italicize volume number after Title of Periodical; do not include the issue number unless the journal begins with page one with each issue. What follows is a sample of common bibliographical sources. For other types of sources, see The SBL Handbook of Style, pp. 38-75.

Bibliographies for Footnote/Endnote Style

Type Example
Book by a Single Author Talbert, Charles H. Reading John: A Literary and Theological commentary on the Fourth Gospel and the Johannine Epistles. New York: Crossroad, 1992.
Titled Book in Series Cogan, Mordechai, and Hayim Tadmor. II Kings: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary.  Anchor Bible 11.  New York: Doubleday, 1998.
Journal Article Layerle, Blake. “John Chrysostom on the Gaze.” Journal of Early Christian Studies 1 (1993): 159-74.
 
Article in Encyclopedia or Volume of Essays Attridge, Harold A. “Jewish Historiography.” Pages 311-43 in Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters. Edited by R. A. Kraft and G. W. E. Nickelsburg. Philadelphia: Fortress, 1986.
 
LOEB Classical Library Tacitus. The Histories and Annals. Translated by C. H. Moore and J. Jackson. 4 vols. LOEB Classical Library. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1937.

Bibliographies for Author-Date Style

Type Example
Book by a Single Author Wilder, Amos. 1939. Eschatology and Ethics in the Teaching of Jesus. New York: Harper and Bros.

 
Titled Book in Series Cogan, Mordechai, and Hayim Tadmor. 1988. II Kings: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary.  Anchor Bible 11.  New York: Doubleday. 
Journal Article Leyerle, Blake. 1993. “John Chrysostom on the Gaze.” Journal of Early Christian Studies 1:159-74.
Article in Encyclopedia or Volume of Essays Stendahl, K. 1962. “Biblical Theology, Contemporary.” Pages 418-32 in vol. 1 of Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible. Edited by G. A. Butterick. 5 vols. Nashville: Abingdon.
 
LOEB Classical Library Tacitus, Cornelius. The Histories and the Annals. 1937. Translated by C. H. Moore and J. Jackson. 4 vols. LOEB Classical Library. Cambridge: Harvard University Press.

Special Notes

  1. Biblical Citations should be given with Biblical book, chapter and verses (*not* with page numbers in their particular edition, unless what they are citing is the notes), ex. 2 Kgs 11:1-20. When citing just the chapter: 2 Kings 11. See the SBL Handbook 69-75 for more information on abbreviations.
  2. If citing notes in a Study Bible, then you need to find the *author* of the *notes* for that particular section (i.e. not just the editor), ex. Wilson, Robert R. 1993. "1 Kings, 2 Kings."  Pages 509-604 in The HarperCollins Study Bible: New Revised Standard Version with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books.  Edited by Wayne Meeks. New York: HarperCollins.
  3. For efficiency, cut-down pages numbers (i.e. instead of 119-134 use 119-34, but not 14-7 instead of 14-17)

Additional citation materials from Dr. Johnson

SBL Style Samples

SBL Style Instructions

SBL Style Guide in Snowden Library

Alexander, Patrick H., ed.  The SBL Handbook of Style: For Ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies. Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson, 1999.
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PN147 .S26 1999 [2 HOUR RESERVE] (ask at circulation desk)