Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

German Resources

Background information and reference resources


Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining concepts related to your topic, especially if you are researching an unfamiliar topic or discipline. Entries in reference resources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings. Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. 

General Reference Databases

Subject-Specific Online Reference Resources

Reference Books

Dictionaries

2001 German and English Idioms
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PF3640 .S94 1995

Collins English-German Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PF3640 .C685 1998

Collins German Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PF3640 .C68 2013

Companion to Twentieth-Century German Literature
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PT401 .C65 1990

Friendly German-English Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PF3640 .B85 1996

Oxford Companion to German Literature
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PT41 .G3 1997

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. DD290.26 .E53 1999

Handbooks

German Verbs and Essentials of Grammar
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PF3885 .J36 2008