Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology Resources

Getting Started with Reference Resources

Background information and reference resources


Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining concepts related to your topic, especially if you are researching an unfamiliar topic or discipline. Entries in reference resources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings. Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. 

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Sociology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HM425 .D5735 2005

Dictionary of the Social Sciences
CALL NUMBER: Ref. H41 .D53 2002

Social Work Dictionary
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV12 .B37 2003

Encyclopedias

21st Century Anthropology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. GN25 .A144 2010 vol. 1-2

21st Century Sociology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HM585 .A13 2007 vol. 1-2

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HM425 .B53 2007 vol. 1-11

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV40 .C635 2008 vol. 1-4

Education and Sociology : An Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER: Ref. LC189.95 .E38 2002

Encyclopedia of American Social History
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HN57 .E58 1992 vol. 1-3

Encyclopedia of Social Theory
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HM425 .E47 2005 vol. 1-2

Encyclopedia of Social Work
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV35 .S6 2008 vol. 1-4

Encyclopedia of Sociology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HM425 .E5 2000 vol. 1-5

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HT108.5 .E53 2002 vol. 1-4

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
CALL NUMBER: Ref. H41 .I58 2001 vol. 1-26

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. GN307 .R68 2010

Social Issues in America
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HN57 .S624 2006 vol. 1-7 plus Index