LibGuides: History Resources: Background Information &amp; Reference Material

Background information and reference resources

Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining concepts related to your topic, especially if you are researching an unfamiliar topic or discipline. Entries in reference resources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings. Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks.

Reference Databases

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Provides a general online encyclopedia
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full text reference articles
Salem Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes the full content of Salem reference sets such as the Decades in America series, Magill's Literary Annual and selected subject encyclopedias

Reference Books for Ancient and Medieval History

Brill's New Pauly (22 Vols): Antiquity by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmuth Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DE5 .N3513 2002 Volume 1
ISBN: 9789004122598
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
The Cambridge Ancient History by I. E. S. Edwards (Editor); C. J. Gadd (Editor); N. G. L. Hammond (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. D57 .C252 Volume 1 Part: 1
ISBN: 0521070511
Publication Date: 1970-12-02
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. D114 .D5 1982 Volume 1
ISBN: 0684167603
Publication Date: 1982-11-01
Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies Visit every aspect of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south, and the ubiquitous world of Judaism from A.D. 500 to 1500. Here you can explore the conditions of daily life, major and minor figures, terms and concepts, countries and provinces, and movements, monuments, people, and events.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by André Vauchez (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. CB351 .D5413 2000 Volume 1
ISBN: 1579582826
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
A comprehensive volume of reference with contributions from over 600 scholars, this book improves with each edition. It was published first in French, and with each new edition there have been additions to the contents.
The New Cambridge Medieval History by Timothy Reuter (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. D117 .N48 1995 Volume 1
ISBN: 9781139055727
Publication Date: 2008-03-28

Reference Books for Early American History

Historical Statistics of the States of the United States by Donald B. Dodd
Call Number: Ref. HA214 .D63 1993
ISBN: 0313283095
Publication Date: 1993-11-16
This volume is the only published compilation of census-focused state-level population, agriculture, and manufacturing data for the fifty states and the District of Columbia.
American History by The Schlager Group
Call Number: Ref. E173 .M62 2008 Volume 1
ISBN: 9780979775802
Publication Date: 2008-07-30
Contains a treatment of more than 130 documents from the Revolutionary era. This book offers an approach to historical reference wherein each entry includes the full text of the document in question as well as an essay that places the document in its historical context. It also includes several photographs and other images.
Dictionary of American biography
Call Number: Ref. E176 .D56 Volume 1
Publication Date: 1928
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by by Leonard W. Levy and Kenneth L. Karst (Editors)
Call Number: Ref. KF4548 .E53 2000 Volume 1
ISBN: 0028648803
Publication Date: 2000-06-19

Reference Books for 20th and 21st Century American History

LGBTQ Events, 2 Volume Set by Salem Press
Call Number: Ref. HQ73 .G74 2017 Volume 1
ISBN: 9781682175910
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
This new edition in the Great Events series chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. This set selects events that help to mark the definition of ""gender"", the emergence of social, cultural, and political movements, and the struggles to gain civil rights.
Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement by Christopher M. Richardson; Ralph E. Luker
Call Number: Ref. E185.61 .L84 2014
ISBN: 9780810860643
Publication Date: 2014-06-11
The second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement is a guide to the history of the African-American struggle for equal rights in the United States. This dictionary has over 500 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, significant legal cases, local struggles, forgotten heroes, and prominent women in the Movement.
The 2000s in America by Craig Belanger (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E169.12 .A178 2013 Volume 1
ISBN: 9781429838832
Publication Date: 2013-06-30
Written to be understood by high school students and college undergraduates, The 2000s in America offers a clear and innovative approach to North America during the 2000s that can also be used by advanced students and scholars. The set covers the full breadth of North American history and culture in 424 alphabetically arranged and easy-to-understand articles and also offers such helpful finding aids as end-of-article cross-references and a category index.

Reference Books for World History

Chronology of World History by Helicon Editors
Call Number: Ref. D11 .M39 1999 Volume 1
ISBN: 1576071553
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
This four volume set, which includes 70,000 events compiled by 27 contributing editors, constitutes the most complete and current chronology of world history ever created.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Bonnie G. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HQ1121 .O93 2008 Volume 1
ISBN: 9780195148909
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
The Oxford Encylopedia of Women in World History is a comprehensive 4-volume set covering all aspects of women's history throughout the world from prehistoric times to the present day. The Encylopedia is comprised of both biographical entries and detailed articles across a wealth of topics.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World by Peter N. Stearns
Call Number: Ref. D205 .O94 2008 Volume 1
ISBN: 9780195176322
Publication Date: 2008-03-28
The breadth of knowledge offered within this multivolume set is astounding. Coverage includes articles on countries, regions, and ethnic groups; themes involving social history, demography, family life, politics, economics, religion, thought, education, science and technology, and culture; and events such as major wars.