LibGuides: History Resources: HIST 338: Rights, Reform, and Protest

Secondary Sources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an archive of scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Project MUSE (Basic Undergraduate Edition) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in the humanities and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from and citations to journals from a variety of disciplines, including the humanities.

Primary Sources

Tips for Finding Primary Sources

Use the following terms to help you find collections of primary sources in the library's catalog:

Source
Papers
Diary
Reader
Document
Autobiography
Memoir

Use reference sources to find the names and titles of specific people, places, items, etc. Reference sources will help you establish a timeline and identify key figures, facts, and terms. They can also refer you to secondary and primary sources. Finally, refer to the bibliographies in your secondary sources to help you locate primary sources.

Magazines

Below are examples of magazines that you can use as primary sources. These, and many more, are available in print or microfilm on the second floor of the library. Search for these using the library's Full Text Finder:

Ebony
The Ladies' Home Journal
Life
Mademoiselle
Newsweek
Time
U.S. News & World Report

Databases

Adam Matthew Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Multiple primary source collections spanning from the 15th-21st centuries. Particular collections of interest: African American Communities, Gender: Identity and Social Change, and Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full text with page and article images to the African American Newspapers collection
1827-1998
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources from historical documents on LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
A database that provides digital reproductions of every issue of the newspaper from 1851-3 years ago.

1851 to 3 years ago
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
A database that provides citations and some full text to articles in popular magazines dating from 1890-1982. Some articles will be located in the library's physical collection and some you will have to request through interlibrary loan.

1890-1982

Where to Find Creative Commons-Licensed Material

Creative Commons Search
A tool that allows you to search for Creative Commons-licensed media and media in the public domain.
Flickr
Most images are free to use. Always double check the license information before including it in your project.
Noun Project
Search for icons and images that are free to use.
Shutter Stock
Search for royalty-free stock photos.
TinEye
An image search engine that allows you to find multiple versions of an image and possibly locate where the image originally came from.
The Internet Archive
"The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public." Internet Archive provides access to millions of publicly available books and text, videos, images, audio recordings, and much more.
Wikimedia Commons
A large collection of media files that are free to use.
ccMixter
A music remixing site that features remixes and samples that are licensed under Creative Commons.
Freesound
A database where you can search for and download CC-licensed sounds.