Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining concepts related to your topic, especially if you are researching an unfamiliar topic or discipline. Entries in reference resources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings. Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks.
The New Interpreter's Bible
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS491.2 .N484 1994 vol. 1-12
Oxford Bible Commentary
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS491.3 .O94 2001
New American Standard Exhaustive Concordance
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS425 .N385
The Englishman's Hebrew Concordance of the Old Testament
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS1125 .W5 1999
A Concordance of the Qur'an
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BP133 .K37 1983
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS440 .N445 2006 vol. 1-5
The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BL31 .O84 1997
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS1225.52 .D53 2003
The IVP Dictionary of the New Testament
CALL NUMBER: BS2312 .I89 2004
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS440 .B5713 vol. 1-15
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS2312 .K5213 vol. 1-10 + 1985 suppl.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BM50 .O94 2011
Anchor Bible Dictionary
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS440 .A54 1992 vol.1-6
Encyclopedia Judaica
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DS102.8 .E496 2007 vol. 1-22
The Encyclopedia of Protestantism
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BX4811.3 .E53 2004 vol. 1-4
New Catholic Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BX841 .N44
The New Encyclopedia of Islam
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BP40 .G42 2008
Encyclopedia of Hinduism
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BL1105 .J56 2007
The Encyclopedia of Religion
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BL31 .E46 1986 vol. 1-16
Jesus in History, Thought, and Culture: An Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BR145.3 .H68 2003 vol. 1-2
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS440 .N445 2006 vol. 1-5
Religion and American Cultures
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BL2525 .R448 2003 vol. 1-3
Religions of the World
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BL80.3 .R45 2002 vol. 1-4
Religions of the Ancient World
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BL687 .R47 2004
Atlas of the World's Religions
CALL NUMBER: Ref. G1046.E4 A7 1999
Biblica: The Bible Atlas - A Social and Historical Journey Through the Lands of the Bible
CALL NUMBER: Atlas Case Ref. G2230 .B53 2007
Historical Atlas of Jerusalem
CALL NUMBER: Ref. G2239 .J4 S1 B4 2002
Harper Atlas of the Bible
CALL NUMBER: Atlas Case Ref. G2230 .H47 1987
Jewish History Atlas
CALL NUMBER: Ref. G1030 .G5 1977
Oxford Bible Atlas
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS630 .O96 2007
Religious Holidays and Calendars: An Encyclopedic Handbook
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CE6 .K45 2004
Hebrew-Greek Key Study Bible
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BA195 .N35 1990
A Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PJ4833 .H6 1971
A Reader's Hebrew-English Lexicon of the Old Testament
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PJ4833 .A69 1989
Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament (Brown-Driver-Briggs)
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PJ 4833 .B68 1968
New American Standard Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS425 .N385
The Englishman's Hebrew Concordance of the Old Testament
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS1125 .W5 1999
The Interlinear Bible : Hebrew-Greek-English
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS3.5 1986
