Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining concepts related to your topic, especially if you are researching an unfamiliar topic or discipline. Entries in reference resources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings. Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks.
Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians: Reference Biographies from the Dictionary of Scientific Biography
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA28 .B534 1991 vol. 1-4
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
Ref. QA5 .C53 2005
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA276.14 .E84 2002
International Biographical Dictionary of Computer Pioneers
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA76.2 .A2 L44 1955b
Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA21 .C645 1994 vol. 1-2
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA5 .W45 2003
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HA29.S2363 2007 vol. 1-3
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA47 .M315 32nd ed.
CRC Standard Probability and Statistics Tables and Formulae
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA273.3 .K64 2000
Princeton Companion to Mathematics
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA11.2 .P745 2008
Second International Handbook of Mathematics Education
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QA11.2 .S43 2003 vol. 1-2
The Universal Book of Mathematics: From Abracadabra to Zeno's Paradoxes
CALL NUMBER: Ref. Qa5 .D27 2004
