Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy Resources

Background information and reference resources


Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining concepts related to your topic, especially if you are researching an unfamiliar topic or discipline. Entries in reference resources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings. Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. 

General Reference Databases

Subject-Specific Online Reference Resources

Reference Books

Dictionaries

Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy
CALL NUMBER: Ref. B 41.B79 2004

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. B41 .C35 2015

Dictionary of Philosophical Quotations
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. B21 .D54 1994

Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy
CALL NUMBER: Ref. B111 .P74 2007

Oxford Companion to Philosophy
CALL NUMBER: B51 .O94 2005

Encyclopedia

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
CALL NUMBER: B121 .C66 1997

Encyclopedia of Ethics
CALL NUMBER: BJ63 .E45 2001

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. B163 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. GE42 .E533 2009

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. B51 .E53 2006 vol. 1-10

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. B51 .R68 1998 vol. 1-10