Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology Resources

Getting Started with Reference Resources

Background information and reference resources


Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining concepts related to your topic, especially if you are researching an unfamiliar topic or discipline. Entries in reference resources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings. Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. 

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionary of human biology and evolution
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QP34.5 .M24 2005

Dictionary of bioinformatics and computational biology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QH324.2 .D53 2004

Dictionary of Biology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QH302.5 .D54 2004

Dictionary of water and waste management
CALL NUMBER: Ref. TD9 .S37 2002

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics, and Proteomics
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QH427 .R43 2003

Environmental Forensics:  A Glossary of Terms
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF3775 .A68 M67 2000

Penguin Dictionary of Biology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QH13 .N62 2004

Encyclopedias

All Things Darwin: An Encyclopedia of Darwin's World
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QH31.D2 A7894 2007

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QH332 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QH540.4 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Evolution
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QH360.2 .E54 2002

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain 
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QP376 .E586 2002

Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QH588.S83 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of water
CALL NUMBER: Ref. GB655 .N48 2003

Environmental Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER: Ref. GE10 .E38 2003

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QL7 .G7813 2003
vol. 1 (Lower Metazoans and Lesser Deuterostomes)
vol. 2 (Protostomes)
vol. 3 (Insects)
vol. 4-5 (Fishes)
vol. 6 (Amphibians)
vol. 7 (Reptiles)
vol. 8-11 (Birds)
vol. 12-16 (Mammals)

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. GE170 .I55 2002

Life on Earth:  An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QH541.15 .B56 L54 2002

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. Q121 .M3 2007

New encyclopedia of aquatic life
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QL120 .N49 2004

Tree of Life : A Phylogenetic Classification
CALL NUMBER: Ref. QH83 .L42513 2006

Handbooks

Gray's Anatomy
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QM23.2 .G73 2005