Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Astronomy & Physics Resources

Background information and reference resources


Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining concepts related to your topic, especially if you are researching an unfamiliar topic or discipline. Entries in reference resources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings. Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. 

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Almanacs

The Astronomical Almanac for the Year
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QB8 .U1

Dictionaries

Cambridge Astronomy Dictionary

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QB14 .C34 1996

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Solar System
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QB501 .E53 2007

History of Astronomy:  An Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QB15 .H624 1997

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QC5 .M15 1996

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. Q121 .M3 2007

The Solar System
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QB501 .S627 2010

Handbooks

Astronomical Phenomena for the Year 
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QB9 .U55

Handbook of Space Astronomy and Astrophysics
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QB136 .Z65 2007

Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QC61 .K3 1995