A Bible dictionary is a reference work containing encyclopedic entries related to the Bible, typically concerning people, places, customs, doctrine, and Biblical criticism. The suggested dictionaries below can be found in the first floor Snowden Library reference collection.
| Anchor Bible Dictionary | Call #: Ref. BS440 .A54 1992 |
| New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible | Call #: Ref. BS 440 .N445 2006 |
| Encyclopaedia Judaica | Call #: Ref. DS102.8 .E496 2007 |
Encyclopedias in the reference collection concentrate on specific fields and are a great first stop when learning about a new topic.
| The Encyclopedia of Religion | Call #: Ref. BL31 .E46 1986 |
| The Encyclopedia of Christianity | Call #: Ref. BR95 .E8913 1999 |
Commentaries provide explanation and interpretation of biblical scripture
| The New Interpreter's Bible | Call #: Ref. BS491.2 .N484 1994 |
| Anchor Bible | Call #: BS192.2 .A1 1964 .G3 |
The language resources below help readers understand the original meaning of Hebrew words used in the bible.
| The Hebrew-Greek Key Study Bible | Call #: Ref. BS195 .N35 1990 |
| New American Standard Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible | Call #: Ref. BS425 .N385 |
Use the online catalog or browse the stacks to locate both print and eBooks on your topic. The general categories for books on religion can be found on the third floor of Snowden Library.
Print journals are organized alphabetically on the second floor of Snowden Library.
| Biblical Archaeology Review | 1975 - Present |
| Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research | 2018 - Present |
| New Testament Studies | 1954 - Present |
