Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Subject-Specific Online Reference Resources

Reference Books

Chronologies

American Theatre, 1969-2000

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PN2277 .N5 H57 2000

 

Dictionaries

Historical dictionary of American Theater: Modernism

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN2266.3 .F57 2008

Oxford Dictionary of Plays

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN1625 .P38 2005

Encyclopedias

American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia

CALL NUMBER: Ref. ML102.M88 H59 1995

The Billboard illustrated encyclopedia of opera

CALL NUMBER: Ref. ML102.O6 B55 2004

Cambridge guide to American theatre

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN2220 .C35 2007

Cambridge Guide to Theatre

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN2035 .C27 1995

Columbia encyclopedia of modern drama

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN1861 .C65 2007

Encyclopedia of Latin American theater

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PQ7082.D7 E63 2003

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History: 1900 to Present

CALL NUMBER: Ref. GT615 .G74 2008

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History

CALL NUMBER: Ref. GT507 .G74 2008

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PN1625 .M3

Oxford companion to American Theatre

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN2220 .B6 2004

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PN2035 .O94 2003

She also wrote plays : an international guide to women playwrights from the 10th to the 21st century

CALL NUMBER:Ref. PN6119.8 .C76 2001

Stage it with music : an encyclopedic guide to the American musical theatre

CALL NUMBER: Ref. ML102.M88 H6 1993

Twentieth-century American dramatists

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS221 .D5 v.249

World encyclopedia of contemporary theatre

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN1861 .W67 1994

Indices

Best American Plays

CALL NUMBER:  PS634 .B4

Index to twentieth-century Spanish plays

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PQ6115 .H17 2000

Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PN1655 .O8 2011

Play Index

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PN1655 .P53