Skip to main content

Spanish Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Subject-Specific Online Reference Resources

Reference Books

Dictionaries

El pequeño Larousse ilustrado edición centenario 2005
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. AG61 .P48 2005

The Language of Spanish Dance: A Dictionary and Reference Manual
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. GV1673 .M35 2003

Oxford Spanish Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PC4640 .O94 2003

Spanish Culture and Society:  The Essential Glossary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. DP233.5 .S73 2002

The University of Chicago Spanish Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PC4640 .U5 2002

Webster's New World International Spanish Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PC4640 .W4278 2004

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Latin American politics
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. F1410 .E56 2002

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. F1406 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PQ7081 .A1 E56 1997

Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PQ7082.D7 E63 2003

The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PQ6055 .F46 2002

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PS153 .H56 G74 2008

Handbooks

The Big Red Book of Spanish Idioms
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PC4460 .W45 2004

Spanish Verbs and Essentials of Grammar
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PC4271 .R3 2008

2001 Spanish and English idioms = 2001 modismos espanoles e ingleses
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. PC4460 .S36 2008