Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Dictionaries

APA Dictionary of Psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF31 .A63 2015

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF109.A1 B56 1997

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. GN502 .E63 2006

Encyclopedia of applied psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF636 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF204.6 .E53 2009

Encyclopedia of psychological assessment
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF39 .E497 2003

Encyclopedia of Psychological Trauma
CALL NUMBER: Ref. RC552.P67 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HF5548.8 .E498 2007

Encyclopedia of school psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. LB1027.55 .E523 2005

Magill's encyclopedia of social science : psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF31 .M33 2003

Child Development
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HQ772 .C436 2002

Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF31 .C725 2010

Handbooks

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF176 .C654 2004

Ethics Desk Reference for Psychologists
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF76.4 .B37 2008

Handbook of child psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF721 .H242 2006

Handbook of forensic psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. RA1148 .H362 2004

Handbook of Psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF121 .H1955 2013

Psychology licensure and certification : what students need to know
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF80.8 .P78 2006

Steven's handbook of experimental psychology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF181 .H336 2002

Oxford Handbook of Memory
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BF371 .O84 2000