Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Resources

Your guide for music resources at Lycoming College.

Selected Websites for Music Research

AllMusic

A huge website that includes biographies and discographies of musicians in all genres.

British Library Sounds

British Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Grinnell College Musical Instruments Collection

Explore the world of acoustic musical instruments. The collection includes: the standard Western instruments used in music making today throughout the cosmopolitan world; earlier historic forms of many of these same instruments; and a generous sampling of instruments used in musical traditions around the non-Western world.

Hathitrust

HathiTrust contains books, scores, and other digitized print materials from across the disciplines and in diverse languages, with most content dating from the late 18th to the early 20th Centuries.

Library of Congress Recorded Sounds Research Center

The Library provides access to a portion of its audio collections through the Recorded Sound Research Center's web page, the American Memory site, The Performing Arts Encyclopedia, and the American Folklife Center pages.

Open Music Library

The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s largest free index of digital resources for the study of music. Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.

Looking for something else?

University of Richmond Boatwright Memorial Library Music Research Guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Check out this comprehensive music research guide from the University of Richmond.