Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematical Sciences Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Dictionaries

Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians: Reference Biographies from the Dictionary of Scientific Biography

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA28 .B534 1991 vol. 1-4

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics

Ref. QA5 .C53 2005

The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA276.14 .E84 2002

International Biographical Dictionary of Computer Pioneers

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA76.2 .A2 L44 1955b

Encyclopedias

Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA21 .C645 1994 vol. 1-2

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA5 .W45 2003

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HA29.S2363 2007 vol. 1-3

Handbooks

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA47 .M315 32nd ed.

CRC Standard Probability and Statistics Tables and Formulae

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA273.3 .K64 2000

Princeton Companion to Mathematics

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA11.2 .P745 2008

Second International Handbook of Mathematics Education

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. QA11.2 .S43 2003 vol. 1-2

The Universal Book of Mathematics: From Abracadabra to Zeno's Paradoxes

CALL NUMBER: Ref. Qa5 .D27 2004