Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started with Reference
Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.
General Reference Databases
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia that covers a wide range of subject areas. Search for articles, images and videos, primary sources, and biographies.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from reference works including dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, almanacs, and more.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Indexes reference book articles in Snowden Library's print collection.
Subject-Specific Online Reference Resources
AtoZ The World This link opens in a new window
Provides information on culture, history, economy, and history demographics on countries around the world.
Encyclopedia of world cultures
Source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information for more than 1,500 global cultures.
The World Factbook
Basic background information for 266 world entities, compiled by the CIA
All titles beginning with the call number "Ref." can be found in the first floor reference collection.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations
Call Number: Ref. KZ4968 .M66 2008 vol. 1-2
Encyclopedia of the Global Economy: A Guide for Students and Researchers
Call Number: Ref. HF1359 .O28 2006 vol. 1-2
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Europa World Year Book
Call Number: Ref. JN1 .E85 2015 vol. 1-3
International Encyclopedia of Political Science
Call Number: Ref. JA61 .I58 2011 vol. 1-8
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Call Number: Ref. HF1373 .P75 2009 vol. 1-2
The Statesman's Yearbook
Call Number: Ref. JA51 .S7 2016
Political Handbook of the World
Call Number: Ref. JF37 .P6 2014