Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice & Criminology Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Dictionaries

The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV7411 .C48 2005

Prentice Hall's Dictionary of American Criminal Justice, Criminology, and Criminal Law
CALL NUMBER: Ref. KF9223.A68 F35 2010

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6789 .E435 2013

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV5804 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6017 .E52 2002

Encyclopedia of transnational crime and justice
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6252 .E53 2012

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6017 .E524 2002

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6017 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV9104 .E58 2003

Encyclopedia of Race and Crime
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6789 .E43 2009

Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6046 .E56 2000

The Encyclopedia of American Prisons
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV9471 .S54 2003

Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV8694 .G76 P35 2001

Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6626 .E534 2007

Encyclopedia of Gangs
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6439.U5 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights
CALL NUMBER: Ref. KF3941 .A68 U88 2011

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV7921 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Police Science
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV7901 .E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Prison and Correctional Facilities
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV9471 .E427 2005

Encyclopedia of World Terrorism
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6431 .E53 2003

Famous American Crimes and Trials
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV9950 .F36 2004

Guns in American Society
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV7436 .G8783 2012

The Mafia Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV441 .S53 1999b

Profiling and Criminal Justice in America (2015)
CALL NUMBER: eBook

World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV7901 .W63 2006

Handbooks

Crime in America: A Reference Handbook
1996–Available only as an eBook

Death Penalty Cases
CALL NUMBER: Ref. KF9227 .C2 L38 1998

Gangs: A Reference Handbook
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6439.U7 K55 1996
Also available as an eBook

Gun Control: A Reference Handbook
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV7436 .K78 1995
Also available as an eBook

Handbook of Crime and Punishment
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6789 .H25 1998

Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HV6773.52 .A47 2005

Thesauri

Burton's Legal Thesaurus
CALL NUMBER: Ref. KF156 .B856 1998