Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Encyclopedias

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HF5803 .A38 2003 vol. 1-3

Chronology of Communication in the United States
CALL NUMBER: Ref. P92.U5 W75 2004

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
CALL NUMBER: Ref. P87.5 .E53 2002 vol. 1-3

Encyclopedia of Conflict Resolution
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HM136 .B783 1997

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
CALL NUMBER: Ref. P87.5 .E535 2003 vol. 1-4

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN172 .E52 2001

International encyclopedia of communication (2008)

International encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences (2d ed., 2008)

International encyclopedia of the social sciences (1968)

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: The Bestselling Guide to Doing Business in More Than 60 Countries
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HF5389 .M67 2006

The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio
CALL NUMBER: Ref. TK6544 .M84 2004 vol. 1-3

Handbooks

Freedom of the Press Decisions of the United States Supreme Court
CALL NUMBER: Ref. KF4774 .A52 F73 1996

Freedom of Speech Decisions of the United States Supreme Court
CALL NUMBER: Ref. KF4772 .A7 F75 1996

Presidential Winners and Losers: Words of Victory and Concession
CALL NUMBER: Ref. E176.1 .V65 2002