Skip to main content

Political Science Resources: Legal Resources

Online Legal Resources

Encyclopedias

American Law Yearbook
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF154 .W472 vol. 2004-2015

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF4548 .E53 2000 vol. 1-6

Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2010
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF4557 .V555 2010 vol. 1-2

Encyclopedia of Education Law
CALL NUMBER:  Ref.KF4117 .E53 2008 vol. 1-2

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF8742 .A35 E53 2001 vol. 1-3

Justices of the United States Supreme Court
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF8744 .J875 2001

Landmark Supreme Court Cases: The Most Influential Decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF8742 .H37 2012 vol. 1-3

West's Encyclopedia of American Law
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF154 .W47 2004 vol. 1-13

Finding Books

The Library of Congress (LC) classification (the system Snowden Library uses to organize books) for Political Science and legal resources begin with the letters J and K which are located on the fourth floor. You may want to browse the shelf where books on your subject are located in order to see what is available. The general categories for Francophone studies are:

  • J = Political Science (fourth floor)
  • K = Law (fourth floor)

For more targeted searching, use the search boxes and links found on the right side of this page.

Dictionaries

The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HV7411 .C48 2005

Black's Law Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF156 .B53 2009

Burton's Legal Thesaurus
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF156 .B856 1998

Homosexuality and the Law:  A Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF4754.5 .A68 S74 2001

International Law: A Dictionary
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KZ1161 .B63 2005

The Oxford Companion to American Law
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF154 .O96 2002

Guides

The Constitution and Its Amendments
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF4557 .C66 1999 vol. 1-4

Essential Supreme Court Decisions: Summaries of Leading Cases in U.S. Constitutional Law
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF4547.4 .V55 2010

Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF4548.5 .O97 2009

Special Citation Style Manuals

ALWD Citation Manual:  A Professional System of Citation
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF245 .A45 2000

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF245 .B58 2010