Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Art History Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Reference Sources

Directories

American Art Directory

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. N50 .A54 2015

2014 Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market

CALL NUMBER Ref. N 8600 .A746 2014

 

Photographer's Market

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. TR12 .P515 2015

Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. N6512 .F26 1999

Handbooks

America's College Museums : Handbook & Directory
CALL NUMBER: Ref. AM11 .D35 2011

A Short Guide to Writing About Art
CALL NUMBER: Ref. N7476 .B37 2008

Reference Books

Dictionaries

The Dictionary of Art

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. N31 .D5 1996

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. N7560 .H34 2008

Glossary of Art, Architecture and Design Since 1945

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. N34 .W34 1992

The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists

CALL NUMBER:  N6505 .M59 2007

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of African American Artists

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. N6538 .N5 J44 2009

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. TR642 .E5 2006 vol. 1-3

Encyclopedia of Visual Art

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. N25 .E53 1989 vol. 1-10

Encyclopedia of World Art

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. N31 .E533 vol. 1-17

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. GT507 .G74 2008 vol. 1-3

The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art 
CALL NUMBER: Ref. N6505 .G76 2011 vol. 1-5