Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archaeology Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in reference sources tend to be short and can help you get started with research on a new topic, identify trends in a subject area, and define unfamiliar terms or people from your readings.

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Atlases

Cultural Atlas of Ancient Egypt
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DT60 .B34 2000

The New Cultural Atlas of Egypt
CALL NUMBER: Ref. G2491.E6 M3 2010

The Atlas of World Archaeology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CC165 .A85 2000

Handbooks

A Guide to Biblical Sites in Greece and Turkey
CALL NUMBER: Ref. BS621 .F36 2003

Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DF77 .A35 2005

Reference Books

Dictionaries

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CC70 .D37 2008

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CC70 .K56 2000

Historical Dictionary of Mesopotamia
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DS70.82 .L45 2003

International Dictionary of Historic Places
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CC135 .I585 1994

Encyclopedias

Archaeology of Food: An Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER: Ref.GN799.F6 A73 2015

Encyclopedia of Archaeology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CC165 .E5 1999 vol. 1-5

Encyclopedia of Archaeology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CC70 .E54 2008 v.1-3

Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DS111 .A2 E5 vol. 1-4

Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture
CALL NUMBER: Ref. F1406.E53 2008

The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CC70.E53 2019

The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DS111 .A2 E5813 1993 vol. 1-4

Milestones in Archaeology: A Chronological Encyclopedia
CALL NUMBER: Ref. CC100 .M87 2007

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DT58 .O94 2001

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DS56 .O9 1997 vol. 1-5

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology
CALL NUMBER: Ref. DS111 .A2 O94 2013