Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Dictionaries

Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology       

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. GN20 .B5 2004

 

Dictionary of the Social Sciences

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. H41 .D53 2002

Encyclopedias

21st Century Anthropology

CALL NUMBER: Ref. GN25 .A144 2010 vol. 1-2

‚ÄčHistory of Physical Anthropology

CALL NUMBER Ref. GN50.3 .H57 1997 v.1-2

 

Encyclopedia of Anthropology

CALL NUMBER: Ref. GN11 .E63 2006 vol. 1-5

 

Encyclopedia of Archaeology 

CALL NUMBER Ref. CC70 .E54 2008 v.1-3

 

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology 
CALL NUMBER: 
Ref. GN307 .E52 1996

 

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures

CALL NUMBER: Ref. HT108.5 .E53 2002 vol. 1-4

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. H41 .I58 2001 vol. 1-26

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology

CALL NUMBER: Ref. GN307 .R68 2010

 

Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia              
CALL NUMBER: Ref. GN307 .T54 2013

World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter- Gatherers to the Age of Globalization 
CALL NUMBER: Ref. TX349 .S66 2013