Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Studies Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Subject-Specific Online Reference Resources

Reference Books

Politics and Law

The Almanac of American Politics

CALL NUMBER: Ref. JK1012 .A44

The Almanac of Women and Minorities in American Politics 2002

CALL NUMBER: Ref. HQ1236.5 .U6 M3779 2001

Elections in the Americas: A Data Handbook

CALL NUMBER: Ref. JF1001 .E363 2005 vol. 1-2

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution

CALL NUMBER: Ref. KF4548 .E53 2000 vol. 1-6

Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections

CALL NUMBER: Ref. JK2261 .S218 2006

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census: From the Constitution to the American Community Survey

CALL NUMBER: Ref. HA37 .U55 E53 2012

Great American Trials

CALL NUMBER: Ref. KF220 .G74 2002 vol. 1-2

Politics in America: Members of Congress in Washington and at Home

CALL NUMBER: Ref. JK1012 .P64

Race and Gender

American Immigrant Cultures

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E184.A1 A63448 1997 vol. 1-2

Contemporary Black Biography

CALL NUMBER: Ref. DT18 .C66 vol. 1-27

The Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E185 .E54 2006 vol. 1-6

Encyclopedia of Women in American History

CALL NUMBER: Ref. HQ1410 .E53 2002 vol. 1-3

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E184.A1 G14 2000 vol. 1-3

Girlhood in America

CALL NUMBER: Ref. HQ777 .G5745 2001 vol. 1-2

Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia

CALL NUMBER: Ref. DS115.2 .J49 1997 vol. 1-2

Men and Masculinity

CALL NUMBER: Ref. HQ1090.3 .M436 2004 vol. 1-2

Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary Completing the Twentieth Century

CALL NUMBER: Ref. CT3260 .N5725 2004

Notable Black American Men

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E185.86 .N68 1999

Notable Black American Women

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E185.96 .N68 2003

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E184.S75 O97 2005 vol. 1-4

Racial and Ethnic Relations in America

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E49 .R33 2000 vol. 1-3

Reference Books

Culture and History

American Decades 

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E169.12 .A42 (1900-1999)

American Eras

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. E169.1 .A471979 1997 vol. 1-8

American National Biography

CALL NUMBER: Ref. CT213 .A68 1999

Americans at War

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E181 .A453 2005 vol. 1-4

Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th Century America

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E169.1 .B7825 2012 vol. 1-6

Dictionary of American History

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E174 .D52 2003 vol. 1-10

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E468 .E53 2000 vol. 1-5

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E169.1 .E624 2001 vol. 1-3

The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E169.1 .G7555 2002 vol. 1-4

Historic Documents

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E839.5 .H57 Index 2005

Historical Dictionary of American Propaganda

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E183.7 .M325 2004

The Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives

CALL NUMBER: Ref. CT213 .S37 1998 vol. 1-8

The Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives. The 1960s

CALL NUMBER: Ref. CT213 .S374 2003 vol. 1-2

Slavery in America: From Colonial Times to the Civil War: An Eyewitness History

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E441 .S36 2000

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

CALL NUMBER: Ref. E169.1 .S764 2000 vol. 1-5

Literature

African American Writers

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS153.N5 A344 2001 vol. 1-2

American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS147 .A4 vol. 1-5

Asian American Literature: Reviews and Criticism of Works by American Writers of Asian Descent

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS153.A84 A82 1999

Companion to Southern Literature

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS261 .C55 2002

Dictionary of American Regional English

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PE2843 .D52 1985 vol. 1-6

Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS153 .I52 E53 2007

Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS316 .E53 1998

Garner's Modern American Usage

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PE2827 .G37 2009

Hispanic Literature of the United States: A Comprehensive Reference

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS153.H56 K36 2003

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature

CALL NUMBER: Ref. PS21 .E537 2004 vol. 1-4

Oxford Companion to the American Musical: Theatre, Film, and Television

CALL NUMBER: Ref. ML102 .M88 H593 2008