Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accounting Resources: Background Info

Getting Started with Reference

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and handbooks. Entries in such sources tend to be rather short and they are meant to help you get started with research on a new topic.

General Reference Databases

Reference Books

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Accounting     

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF5621 .D53 2016                                                                                                                                

A Dictionary of Finance and Banking

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HG151 .D54 2005

Encyclopedias

Accountant's Encyclopedia

CALL NUMBER: Ref. HF5621 .P7

Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HC102 .E5

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. AS8 .E53  pt.1-3

Encyclopedia of Busine$$ and Finance

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF1001 .E467 2001  vol. 1-2

International Encyclopedia of Business and Management

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF1001 .I53 2002  vol. 1-8

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management

CALL NUMBER: Ref. HD30 .15 .B455 2005  vol. 1-13

Handbooks

Accountants' Handbook of Formulas and Tables 
CALL NUMBER: Ref. HF 5699 .L56 1988
                                                                                        

APB Accounting Principles

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF5616 .U5 A55  vol. 1-2

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF5681.R25 T68

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF5691 .B73 2012

GAAS Guide

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF5667 .M514

Guide to Preparing Financial Statements Trends

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF5681.B2 G845

RMA Annual Statement Studies

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF5681 .B2 R6

United States Master Tax Guide

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. KF6369.A1 C6

Wiley GAAP ... Interpretation and Application of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles

CALL NUMBER:  Ref. HF5616.U5 W55